Spring Sculpture Prize Exhibition: 12th-27 October

Celebrating its 14th year, Lot19’s Spring Sculpture Prize has established itself as a well adored creative institution in Castlemaine.   This annual exhibition attracts a very high calibre of work. Mark Anstey, owner and operator of Lot 19 produces the event each year as a way of supporting emerging and established artists alike:

“The Lot19 Spring Sculpture Prize differs from the high budget corporate prizes in that all the artists aren’t just going for one big prize, make or break. This allows them to present more exceptional smaller works, with emerging artists exhibiting alongside more established sculptors.”

This year the three independent judges who distribute the major prize of $1500 cash donated by Lot 19, include established, practising artists Brodie Ellis (sculptor/film/sound artist) and Dale Cox (sculptor/visual artist), and Klare Lanson (writer/editor/performer/visual artist).

Visitors to the art space can expect to feast their eyes on a diverse range of works and medium, including steel, clay, paper, cloth, plaster, wood, grass and twine. There are no limitations on the size of the sculpture, and there are categories for adults and children.

All entrants work will be exhibited for 3 weeks, with the official grand opening and prizegiving taking place at 2pm on Saturday 12th October.  Dulce Lunar(Lot 19’s resident caterer) will be serving fresh, delicious food and Papa’s Bar will be serving drinks throughout.

Opening Hours: 13th-27th October. Friday, Saturday & Sunday, 12-5pm

A huge congratulations to ALL the winners of the 2019 Lot 19 Spring Sculpture Prize!

Lot 19 Spring Sculpture Prize 2019 ($1500)
Paul Turbitt: ‘chips’
Justine Wallace: ‘shale’
Cameron Roberts: ‘magnetometer’
Ilka White: ‘holding ground’

Mount Alexander Shire Council ($1000) 

Winters Flat PS with Eliza Gilchrist: ‘the more you look, the more you see’

The Ron Anstey ‘Big Hearted Award’ ($1000)

Frank Veldze and Suzanne Donisthorpe ‘are you lying down’

Alex Sanson ‘direct action 2030 demonstrator unit’

The Salvage Yard ($500 voucher)

Taron Stanley ‘helicoidus’

The Mill ($500) 

Jean-Paul Cretney ‘untitled’

Helen Seligman ‘shhh…listen’

Sam Deal ‘10,000 burgers’

Alex Sanson ‘direct action 2030 demonstrator unit’

Christine McCue ‘shaman’s cape’

The Hub Foundation Award ($500)

Leslie Thornton & Jennifer Sharp ‘red poles’

Alex Sanson ‘direct action 2030 demonstrator unit’

Craig Stephens ‘buy now, pay later’

Art Supplies Castlemaine ($250 voucher)

Louiseanne King ‘solis’

The Bridge Hotel Award ($250) 

Sophie Dunn ‘you destroy my home, I destroy yours’

Coffee Basics – Das Kaffeehaus Award ($250)

Ilka White ‘holding ground’

Healing Well Soft Sculpture Award ($100)

Ramona Richardson ‘panic room’

Dulce Lunar ‘Optimism’ Award ($100)

Louiseanne King ‘solis’

Theatre Royal Castlemaine Innovation Award ($100) Leslie Thornton & Jennifer Sharp ‘red poles’

Tom Chippindall Kids Award ($100)

Freya ‘castle of forgotten dreams’

Leslie Thornton & Jennifer Sharp ‘red poles’

Taron Stanley ‘helicoidus’

Louiseanne King ‘solis’

Ilka White: ‘holding ground’